Why I Love Valentine’s Day

My husband sometimes says we met at a Valentine’s party…which isn’t exactly true…but since we neither one remember when we first laid eyes on one another, it’s as good a time as any to remember.  

It was actually at a Backwards Valentine Social that our church gave for the young people, which was held at the small community center in town.  The premise was that the girls would help the guys with their chairs, their coats, etc, being the chivalrous ones instead of the guys.

Everett had been away at the university and had not seen me for a while.  But this night, he did see me!  Because I was the one who held his chair…& then pretended I would pull it out too far!  And when it came time to clean up, I grabbed the broom out of his hands!   And when it was time to put on his coat, I held the sleeve closed at the cuff!  Oh, yeah!  He saw me!  Perhaps for the first time, really saw me.  And he tells me now that he thought, “She is really a feisty little thing!”

Since he had been away a couple of years, he hadn’t known that I was finally coming out of my shell.  I have to say that I was only like this in the familiar safety of church-related functions.

At the high school he and I had attended, I was very shy and quiet; but the church was my oyster.  There I sang in choir, taught a Sunday School class & even sang in a trio did an occasional solo.

My older brother Wallace and I frequently went to area youth events, and soon Everett was going along with us.  In another few weeks, he and I had our first date.  So I’m sure you can readily understand that it would only be natural for me to love Valentine’s Day!  Especially since I ended up with the very best Valentine of them all!

Author: athomeintwoworlds

My journey has allowed me to be a wife, mother, grandmother and homemaker. Through the years, I've traveled with my husband, lived abroad, taught classes in both English and Spanish, cooked in many kitchens, and decorated our many dwellings. I love reading, crafting, hanging out with my family, and drinking tea. Looking all around me, I can't help but see how blessed I have been. I really long for my life to be an inspiration to others, as well.

Leave a Reply

