Love Covers…

There are just no two ways about it–I acknowledge that I am unusually blessed! Don’t know why, because I surely don’t deserve it, but, oh, how grateful I am!

Married to a fantastic man for nearly 55 years (in March), with whom I share three beautiful children and seven, soon-to-be eight (in May) precious grandchildren. They are our joy and our crown!

Have you seen that commercial about a little bandage they place on an owie? They say “Love covers.” They also show a couple sheltering their tiny baby with an umbrella. Again–“Love covers.”

Yesterday I had out-patient surgery to help me breathe better, and had to have general anesthesia. Of course one cannot do this alone. My amazing husband was my driver, and then morphed into my competent nurse!

His myriad abilities cover being head our home, founder of an amazing educational ministry, a stellar organizer, a gifted administrator, teacher, facilitator and mentor. And various times over the years he has donned the invisible garb of my very own private male nurse!

It’s general knowledge that patients can be a pain, present company included! Nevertheless, this amazing hubby of mine exhibits rare patience, makes allowances, and sympathizes time after time. I always know I am in good hands! I just know it! His love covers me.

And that brings to mind something I treasure about this incredible guy: he’s a man of integrity. He’s committed to me and also to our family. What rest it is to my heart and what security to my soul! He looks after us all! He prays for each of us. He keeps open communication, and regularly updates everyone as to our activities and situations.

This is not the first time Everett has taken on my care. Years back, our vocation took us to Montevideo, Uruguay, in a region far south, known there as the southern cone of South America.

We had a vehicle paid for by the youth ministry of Northern Missouri; a Peugeot, whose parts were manufactured in France but assembled in Uruguay. We had waited months for this car…and I was in a wreck that would have totaled it if living in the States, but Latin American mechanics are famous for their automobile restorations! Again, we waited…two months this time for our vehicle.

In the meanwhile, I began to suffer constant pain in my body after the accident. Now you have to know how scarey it is to be in a wreck in a foreign country! They tell me I speak good Spanish, but I was quite traumatized, trying to deal with all that this entailed.

I just remember being in the left turn lane on a small avenue which had tall shrubbery growing right down the center. I couldn’t see anyone coming, so I pulled out and then BAM! I am thrown forward into a complete stop. Suddenly I’m looking over to my left at a very small vehicle, which was resting on its roof with its four tires spinning wildly round and round! Was the driver alive? Was there a baby in the car?

I couldn’t find my new glasses which I had only begun to wear. Had I forgotten them at the house? Did that mean I was to blame? That I had not seen the car coming because of not wearing my glasses? (Only later someone found them in the door pocket where they had fallen in the impact. I had been wearing them!)

I exited the Peugot to see what to do next. Neighbors came to see also. One very kind woman urged me to walk uphill to her nearby house where I could call someone–Everett-(no cell phones yet)–he was working from the house that morning so I could take the car; to simply go around the corner to buy groceries. He called our friend from the States, who was also in Uruguay with her husband.

An officer arrived, as well as the friend from the States. I wept nervously and wrung my hands, exclaiming over the new car we had driven only a couple weeks. The gruff-voiced policeman endeavored to comfort me, assuring me the other driver had, after all, gotten out of his vehicle “on his own power” and appeared uninjured. As for the cars, “Son fieros, no más, señora!” “It’s just metal, ma’am!” No lives lost!

They did take him to a first aid station, just to make sure he was going to be okay. Meanwhile, I had to be driven to the police station to wait, accompanied by my friend…and the officer.

A matê cup and thermos had been found in the front console of the little car, so the policeman was convinced the other driver was distractedly poring hot water from the thermos into the matê cup, thus causing the accident. (Yerba mâte is made from leaves of trees grown in that region and prepared as a type of tea. The Uruguayans are avid mâte drinkers!)

Although it looked like he was the guilty one, I was the foreigner and so the one on whom they settled the blame. But I was soon released and our friend took us home. All in all, you can imagine how traumatic it was for me.

After that harrowing experience, and another long wait for the car to be repaired, I began to have pain in both arms almost all the time. The local British-Uruguayan doctor put me on Ibuprofen for what he said was osteo arthritis.

All that to say how supportive my husband was, and how he did his best to help fill in the gap when I couldn’t keep up with the heavier household work. Once he brought our daughter and me with him on one of his educators conferences in the States so I had a appointment and received the diagnosis of fibromyalgia.

It would be 12 years before I was divinely healed of that little-understood disease. Through it all, Everett’s love covered me and sometimes covered for me.

In years to follow, we have each had our surgeries, total knee replacements, and removal of a kidney for him; rotator cuff surgery and thumb surgery for me. Now it’s surgery to help me breathe better. I have to rest. I find I have to hold my head up or my nose bleeds. Never mind. He’s got me covered!

Does this sound like a fairy-tale? Most days it is! What feelings does it stir in you? Have you ever felt covered by someone’s love, someone’s protection? You can have, not just the feeling, but the actual experience!

The sacred Scriptures assure us that God wants to be a husband to widows, surround the childless in a home, and be Father to the fatherless and orphans. He cares for you! So deeply. Christ spilled His innocent blood to be the covering of your sin if you will just ask. And then He promises to cover you with his feathers as a mother hen covers her chicks to shelter and protect them.

Love covers. “And greater love has no man than this, that a man would lay down His life for His friends.” Again, “You are my friends if you do whatever I have asked you.” Let the “Lover of our souls” cover you. He longs to do just that!

Author: athomeintwoworlds

My journey has allowed me to be a wife, mother, grandmother and homemaker. Through the years, I've traveled with my husband, lived abroad, taught classes in both English and Spanish, cooked in many kitchens, and decorated our many dwellings. I love reading, crafting, hanging out with my family, and drinking tea. Looking all around me, I can't help but see how blessed I have been. I really long for my life to be an inspiration to others, as well.

2 thoughts on “Love Covers…”

  1. This was so good! How very blessed you both are to have found your “soul mate” at such an early age! You two are definitely “equally yoked”!

    Like

    1. Susan, Thank you for your kind words; they mean so much to me! Did you know Heather said something when we were there for the funeral & for Robert’s party? I told her I was hoping to begin blogging & she really did encourage me to go for it! She is such an inspiration…& I can see now where she gets it! I didn’t know until recently that you like to read blogs! God bless you, sweet niece, and may you continue in good health & spirits as you bring so much joy to others!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

Leave a Reply

